a sigh of relief
2003-10-29 - 10:42 a.m.
days until our wedding!

Well, my mom FINALLY sent me her portion of the guest list, and just as I had hoped I had already included about half of her list in mine. As it stands, including people I know won't be there due to travel etc, the list is at 262, and that's including children who may or may not attend. So I am breathing a humongous sigh of relief. Everyone I have talked to said to estimate that I should estimate between 15 and 25% of people I invite will not attend. That means I should expect between 210 and 230 people. VERY doable.

Hell, even if we were to add another 20 people I am confident we will do just fine in terms of capacity. The reason this relieves me so, is that most of the reception venues I have looked at only seated up to 250 people. I had originally estimated a headcount of 300, and our choice of venues was severely limited then.

So I have two places in mind for the reception, but since we can't book it until January (as they want at least half of the money at booking date), and we are busy saving up for New York. I figure even if we wait until January, that still gives us damn near a year and since November isn't a hot wedding month, I'm banking that competition won't be fierce. Like there is a million people out there rushing to book the VFW anyway. :-)

Anyhoo, that's all for now!

prev - next