venue searching is like soul searching ... only harder
2003-10-21 - 9:40 a.m.
days until our wedding!

Well, Aaron and I drove around to 5 different reception halls in Renton on Saturday morning. Arg. I fell in love with one place, it had it's own parking lot, and pretty willow trees all around, with climbing ivy on the building... but it only seats up to 160, so that's a no-go. We did see one place, called The Rockin' Horse Dance Barn The only drawback is it's a bit of a drive from the church I am hoping we are married in. Who knows, we may end up getting married in Renton, afterall. I am not worrying about that part of the planning until after the new year.

I have called at least a dozen halls in the last few weeks, and much to my dismay, many of them are not keen on kegs of beer. This means that while we might be saving money at some of the halls in rental fees, buying cans or bottles will jack that price right back up there. The plus side is though, that we won't have to worry about returning the kegs or having someone else return them for us. And we would be able to have more of a selection. Arg. Who knows.

I would just really like to find a place to have the reception before January. Things tend to fill up rather quickly... though I am counting on the competition to not be as fierce, seeing as November isn't exactly your number one wedding month.

Wish us luck!


prev - next